Finding happiness

I write things here as they come up in my life.  I go to bed at night thinking of all the things I want to share with the people who happen by my blog.  I don’t know who you are, but thank you for taking the time to read.  I see people in my daily life, my friends, my family, my neighbors.  They do things that are not the best for them and they wonder why they are feeling the way that they do.  Health, which I went into in my very first post, is more then what you put into your body.  I mean, its a big part of it, but psychology wouldn’t be such a money maker if what you ate was the only guiding point.

I’m talking about taking time for YOU.  Everyone says “Well I don’t have time.”  Or, “I’m too tired.”  But these are just excuses.  When was the last time you took a walk, just to take a walk.  Not a walk to burn calories, or a walk to the corner store because you need milk.  I mean a walk to see the flowers blooming.  When was the last time you got up and left your house and saw the sun rise.  Studies have shown that exposure to sunlight by as little as 20 minutes a day not only helps your vitamin D intake (which you can’t get substantially from food) but it also increases serotonin levels, which helps treat depression.
009
 When was the last time you jumped in a puddle?  (And yes, this is my son)
Have you ever seen a child walk?  They don’t just walk blindly, they constantly stop and pick things up, they pick flowers, they ask questions about what they see around them.   Walk with a child’s eye.  Lay on the ground and look up at the tree branches.  Right now in WA the trees are blossoming with gorgeous pink flowers and I find it simply awesome.  I stop at Puget sound and I sit and watch the bubbles rise up from the sand as the crabs and snails skitter around.

Another love of mine, is simply swinging on the swings at the park.  I put my headphones on and I swing.  Even without the sun, in cloudy rainy WA, I swing like a child.  The kids there look at me like I’m crazy, one even asked me if I was a kid.  I said no, grown ups can swing too.  The  two of us, years apart, laughed like best friends.
Plus, swinging burns 200 calories an hour!
 Remember, health is not just about your diet, it is about every aspect of your being.
So get out there, enjoy the simple stuff,  find the beauty in the things around you, and enjoy life.
After all, what is the purpose of life, if to not to find our own happiness.
Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

