Salad, the end of the road for excuses.

Good nutrition is something that I grew up with , and I feel quite lucky that my mom was such a good teacher throughout my youth.  Even now she continues to be very helpful, sharing recipes that she has tried from her macrobiotics cookbooks.  Though I don’t subscribe to the macrobiotic way of eating, there are a few things I have taken away from her insights.  One is that kelp flakes are great at replacing salt, and two is that a salad doesn’t have to be boring.

When my mom makes a salad, she puts it in a VERY large bowl, and she puts everything she can think of into it.  This is no exaggeration.  Left over dinner?  Its in the salad, bean salad, yup that too!   I don’t exactly make my salads the same way as her, after all, there are some things that I just don’t eat, like chicken, and I’m not a big fan of pre made bean salad.  However, I tend to get really creative when making my salads.   And I LOVE salad because of it.

Of course, we should always be mindful of what we eat, cheese, or too many nuts and seeds, is a surefire way to turn a healthy salad into a weight management nightmare.   Everything in moderation =)

008

Today’s salad is one that is full of antioxidants, leafy greens, and omega-3’s.   It has everything but grains, but if I had some quinoa made I probably would have thrown it in.  All ingredients are organic.

  • 1 raw garlic, finely chopped and allowed to sit for 5 minutes to release the healthy enzymes
  • 2 cups leafy greens, I used a premade organic herb garden salad which contains mizuna, romain, tango, green oak, green chard, baby spinach, arugala, frisee, beet tops, ect..plus herbs like cilantro, parsley, and dill.
  • 1/2 a peeled, grated yellow  beet from the farmers market
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 4 garlic greens (also from the farmer’s market, what a find!)
  • 2 scallions, roughly chopped
  • 1/4  cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 an avocado, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbls dried oregano
  • 1 tbls balasamic vinegar
  • pinch of kelp granules, but you can use salt instead
  • 1 mandarin orange

014

I realized when I got up stairs, I had forgotten to add the orange, but luckily I always keep a snack close by so I peeled it up and layered it out on top and I have to say, it was just what the salad was missing.

I put it all in a large Tupperware, put the lid on, shook it up, and munched away!

Salad is great to take with you on the go.  Here’s a tip, take your dressing items, oil, vinegar, oregano, salt and pepper, and place in a mason jar with a lid. Now take another mason jar, and put your cut up produce in this one.  Now you have an easy portable lunch you can take with you anywhere.  Get creative!  Salad is a filling, healthy  meal that leaves with you little room to make excuses for not getting enough greens into your diet.

I’ve linked to some other articles, below, of people “jarring” their lunch.  (get it, jarring, instead of bagging? LOL)

4 thoughts on “Salad, the end of the road for excuses.

  1. Pingback: Red Salad L’Orignal | jittery cook

  2. Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to understand so much
    approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I think that you simply could do with a few percent to power the message home
    a little bit, however instead of that, this is wonderful blog.

    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

    • What points do you think would drive the point home? I always welcome constructive criticism! I’m so glad you enjoy my articles and thank you so much for the encouragement.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

