A Journey, not the destination

Trying to do a move I saw in a picture.

Trying to do a move I saw in a picture.

I have a confession to make.  I suck at yoga.  I go onto you tube  or I look online at yoga poses, and then on my own, without paying for a class, I try the moves.  Its not that I’m against paying for a yoga class, believe me, if I could afford it, I’d be there in a heart beat.  So I do what I can with what I’ve got.  I’m really good at downward facing dog, and I can do tree pose for a pretty decent amount of time now, but overall, I suck.

The picture above me attempting to do one of those back bends.  I don’t even know what its called.  I just saw a photo article titled, “Yoga in unlikely places.” which can be seen here:   http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-8375/yoga-in-unlikely-places-gorgeous-slideshow.html   Pretty amazing pictures of some pretty amazing people doing some pretty amazing things with their bodies.  I’m like a little kid when I see someone do something that I think is easy.  I thought, “Oh, new moves to do, I can do that!’  And immediately pulled my computer chair away from my desk to make space, and started bending backwards to reach for my ankles behind my head.  Needless to say, I didn’t get to my ankles.  This pose, pictured below, another of which I do not know the name of, was taken with my camera set up on a bench outside to auto-snap at 15 seconds so I could get into the pose and take a picture of myself.  A couple things happened.  1) was that I could hardly keep my balance for the 15 seconds it took to snap the picture, and 2) I realized that even though I thought I was doing the moves exactly like in the pictures in the article…I wasn’t even close.

003

My point is, however, that I don’t stop trying.  Yoga is a discipline, it takes years of practice to be able to bend your legs behind your ears, and for some, to even touch your toes!   That doesn’t mean, however, that we shouldn’t try.    Attempting the poses, even if I don’t know the names, or I’m not doing them correctly, FEELS GOOD!  It feels great to stretch, open up my chest, bend my spine another way then forward (which is how I spend the majority of my day at the computer), and to lengthen my muscles.

We are all in different stages in different things when it comes to aspects of our lives.  We shouldn’t get discouraged because we don’t live up to some standard we have in our heads of how we should be.  Whether its yoga, or eating properly, or knitting, it isn’t about the destination, as the saying goes, its about the journey.

*Disclaimer, be aware of your body and the physical limitations you  might have.  Don’t be afraid to try new things but of course, don’t go crazy bending into positions you can’t get up from!

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

