Southwest Spiced kidney beans

037

There is one thing that I love almost as much as I love sunny days, and that is convenience!  Most of the time I am only cooking for myself, plus, I usually have to cook different meals for different people depending on who’s home.  My son won’t eat beans, my husband is a die hard meat eater who is hardly home for meal time anyway, and I just  can’t spend all my time in the kitchen cooking.   I  spend enough time there cleaning as it is!  I strive to make filling meals for myself that won’t leave too many leftovers and that leave me satisfied.  Its not always easy to do.  But there’s one thing that I really like about eating vegan, when I make a bean dish I can easily portion out how much I want to make just by how many cups of dried beans I soak over night.  This becomes a bit more difficult when I use canned beans, but they are so versatile that I usually will get to them within two days, tossed in a salad.

This is a super quick and easy recipe that is full of protein, nutrients, and whole grains (if served with brown rice)

You can serve this with millet, or quinoa or even polenta, but my favorite is brown rice.

Makes 1 serving:

  • 1/4 cup cooked kidney beans.  If using dried kidney beans, soaked overnight and cooked for 2 hours.  Let Cool.   If using canned Kidney beans, measure out 1/4 cup from the can, making sure to  rinse them off before using.
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp Extra Virgin Olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chili pepper
  • Juice of 1 lime (I use pre bottled lime juice, but make sure it is pure lime juice, read the ingredients)
  • pinch of salt and black pepper to taste

Add all ingredients together and let marinate for an hour at room temperature.  That’s it, eat and enjoy!

I serve this with lime wedges, avocado, and put the beans over raw baby spinach.  The marinade from the beans give the spinach an excellent flavor when it drizzles down.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

