Vegan Gluten Free Lentil Loaf

020

I mentioned yesterday that my cousin and her family were over for dinner.  I wanted to share with all of you the main course, a wonderfully moist lentil loaf that I developed after testing a few recipes.  This makes a very big loaf, but if you have leftovers, you can always freeze them for an easy meal another time, simply defrost in the fridge over night.  Everyone loves this loaf, even devout meat lovers.  My husband always goes back for seconds and my cousin’s wife had about 4 slices!  I promise this is a definite crowd pleaser, plus its full of vitamins and fiber and omega-3’s.  With some guilt-free ketchup slathered on the top, no one will be able to resist this meatless loaf!

  • 1 cup green lentils
  • 1 cup yellow split pea lentils (Toor Dal)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 3/4 cup ketchup sugar free organic ketchup
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, finely chopped and steamed for 2 minutes
  • 1 celery, finely chopped
  • 8 crimini mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 2 tbls  chia seeds, soaked in water and left to sit for at least a half hour
  • 2 tbls ground flax seeds, soaked in water and left to sit for at least a half hour
  • pinch salt

Pre-heat the oven to 375.  Cook the lentils, you can cook them in the same pan, for the 2 cups of lentils you will need about 4 cups of water.  They will be done in about 45 minutes.  Healthy saute the onions, celery, and mushrooms.  (To see how to healthy saute, see my post Vegan Cashew Lettuce Wraps with Healthy Sauteed Vegetables under vegan recipes)  Meanwhile, steam the carrots for no more then 3 minutes.   Strain any left over liquid from the lentils, they should be soft  but not squishy, and put them in a food processor with the rice.  Process them until they are fine but not liquefied, it should only take about a minute of pulsing.  Remove this mixture and now add all the veggies (onions, celery, mushrooms and carrots) and process these the same way, you want them fine, but not liquid.  In a mixing bowl, add the lentil puree, the veggie puree, ketchup, spice, chia and flax seeds, almond flour and a pinch of salt.  Mix well with your hands.   I used my bread machine to mix because the lentils were still hot.  You can also use a mixing spoon.     Place in a loaf pan, drizzle some more ketchup on top and cook for an hour.  After its finished cooking, let it sit out to cool so that it is easy to serve.

I love eating mine with extra ketchup on the side, but you can even use BBQ sauce if you want.  I use Organicville sugar free ketchup, it is all organic and made with agave.  It is the best ketchup I have ever had.   If your ketchup has High Fructose corn syrup in it, please don’t use it.  High Fructose corn syrup is refined sugar from corn, and it is almost always from GMO crops.  It has been called “The cocain of the food industry”, and for good reason.  It is highly addictive.  I’ve linked to a video breaking it down.

8 thoughts on “Vegan Gluten Free Lentil Loaf

    • I had made another version of this that looked way closer to regular meat loaf, it just depends on the lentils that you use. I froze a huge chunk of this and I actually just took it out to eat tonight lol. It freezes really well =)

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

