Gluten free pasta with healthy sauteed eggplant, mushrooms and fresh herbs (vegan)

036

 

I love speghetti, but what I hate is the guilt I feel after eating it.  When I found Organic Quinoa pasta made by Ancient Grains, I was like a kid in a candy store.  I don’t always eat gluten free, but I try as hard as I can, and one thing that I had a hard time with was all the gluten free pastas on the market.  This one, however, really tastes and feels like regular pasta.  The first ingredient is corn flour, but since its organic I don’t have to worry about GMO’s.  The asparagus on the side was purple asparagus that I picked up at the farmer’s market.  I just steamed them for 5 minutes and left them like that.  If you are one who dislikes plain vegetables  you can add some extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, 1 crushed garlic clove and salt and pepper.

This whole meal comes together in less then 20 minutes, and what usually would be a very fattening meal is transformed into a wonderfully nutritious dinner.  The usual method for cooking eggplant is to cook it in oil, but eggplant is VERY absorbent and all that oil just gets sucked right in.  Healthy sauteing cooks it up in under 5 minutes, plus you get the added nutrients from the broth and no added fat.

Healthy sauteed Tomato sauce:

  • 2 tbls vegetable broth
  • half of an eggplant cubed 1 inch thick
  • 5 crimini mushrooms, cut thin
  • 2 vine tomatoes, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • half a can of tomato paste (about 2 tbls)
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 5 julienne basil leaves
  • 2 tbls minced parsely
  • 1/2 tbls dried oregano (you can use fresh, up it to 2 tbls)
  • salt to taste

Heat up the vegetable broth in a pan, when it starts to steam add the eggplant, mushrooms, and tomatoes   Cover, and let it cook about 3 minutes.   Uncover, let it cook a minute more, stir if the eggplant is cooked through, then add the remaining ingredients.  Stir it all up, the paste should make it nice and thick.  Take it off the heat, add a pinch of salt, and serve over the quinoa pasta.   I would usually sprinkle some nutritional yeast over the top, but I was out to night.

2 thoughts on “Gluten free pasta with healthy sauteed eggplant, mushrooms and fresh herbs (vegan)

  1. Pingback: Variety is the Spice of Life | The Epigenetics Project Blog

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

