Banana Mango Beauty Smoothie with Pistachios

Green Smoothie

Green Smoothie (Photo credit: joyosity)

My morning routine goes something like this:  Wake up, make myself a glass of  green tea with freshly squeezed lemon juice, get in the car, take my son to school, come home and make a green smoothie.  Making my morning smoothie is one of my favorite activities.  I feel like I’m a scientist in a lab.  I never quite know what I will put in my blender until I open my fridge.  I never know how it will taste or what color green (or in the case of using beets and blueberries, what color, period) it will turn out.   I just know that it will contain some sort of green veggie and a bit of fruit and that I will probably be drinking two servings.

And everyday I create something new, I think to myself, “I should post this recipe!” And I go to take a picture…and it doesn’t look very appetizing…it just looks…green…I get very discouraged and I don’t post anything at all about my wonderful creation.  So I’ve decided that I just won’t take pictures of them.  The smoothie to the right is not  mine, but if you can picture that same one on a black desk…then you have already seen what I am drinking at this moment.

I will  however, share with you the recipe that I am happily sipping on.  It took a couple tries to get it right, I had to remix it a couple times because the first two tries were a bit unpalatable, even for me.   All of the ingredients are organic.  When eating things raw you not only get more nutrients, but you also get a concentration of pesticides if you are buying non organic.  Of course, do what your budget can afford.  Things like avocado and mango, with a thick skin, have very low rates of pesticides in them.

The beauty smoothie with Pistachios

  • 2 collard green leaves
  • 1/3 cup of Broccoli
  • 1 green apple
  • 2 tbls curly parsley
  • 1 cup hemp milk
  • 1 cup rice milk
  • 10 shelled pistachios (raw)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 red mango
  • 2 dashes of stevia
  • 1 large carrot
  • 4 tbls hemp protein powder

blend altogether in a high speed blender until smooth, about 1 minute.  Enjoy!

 

Adding herbs to your smoothies is an excellent idea, but be careful not to add too much or it will overpower your drink.  Raw parsley, broccoli  and collards are full of vitamins such as vitamin A , which is known as the beauty vitamin, keeping skin, hair and nails healthy,and promoting eye health.  Other vitamins are Vitamin K (which is needed to help absorb other vitamins and keeps our blood clotting) , folate (vital for pregnant women and …well everyone else), and B-vitamins.  Pistachios are very high in antioxidants, and they even help maintain weight….the list goes on and on.  I’ve mentioned before that I don’t really like to go into the details of the vitamins and minerals because THEY ARE ALL VITAL AND GOOD FOR YOU.  You can’t eat a piece of fruit and think, “oh man, I shouldn’t have had that last grape.”  It just doesn’t happen.   You should just know that if it came from the ground, it has something in it that is going to do something helpful in your body.  Unless its oil…or uranium…or lava… LOL okay, so maybe not everything that  comes from the ground is good for you.   But I think you get my point.

Don’t be afraid to add whatever you have on hand to your smoothies.  Be your own mad scientist, get creative, and have fun!  You might just invent the best smoothie ever.

Screenshot from the public domain films Maniac...

Screenshot from the public domain films Maniac (1934) showing Horace B. Carpenter as the character “Dr. Meirschultz” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

18 thoughts on “Banana Mango Beauty Smoothie with Pistachios

  1. Do you need any other publications connected with this particular one?

    I would would like to investigate more information on this unique area of interest!
    ! 😉 I personally enjoy all your blogposts, but nevertheless I really want significantly more advice about best acne treatment for menopausal women.
    Thanks for your insight!!!

    • Vitamin e intake, which helps with skin, needs to be increased during this time. Other herbal supplements that act like estrogen in the body are licorice root and sarsaparilla. There is also soy, red clover, and black cohosh. All besides the soy are herbs and make a delicious tea! :). Hope this information helped.
      I’m not sure about your other question concerning linking up to others sites?

  2. Someone essentially assist to make critically articles I would state.

    That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular
    post amazing. Excellent job!

    • Hello! my information comes from my schooling, I am currently a student in holistic nutrition. I am so happy you are enjoying the information! I hope you come back often =)

  3. I could research this all day!! Maybe you’ve got an RSS feed I could possibly check out. We have all recently been browsing everywhere over the web site regarding articles about acne treatment facial masks.

  4. Howdy! This post could not be written much better! Looking
    at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching
    about this. I will send this information to him. Fairly
    certain he’s going to have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

    • hello and thank you! I’ll be posting the next in my series of nutrition through the ages tomorrow. It will be covering pregnancy, of course the best thing i’ve found to treat acne in anyone is to avoid processed foods, drink plenty of water, eat plenty of vegetables, and wash your face with natural soaps (I make my own) and to include raw apple cider vinegar tonic on a daily basis.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

