Cold Soba Noodles with Healthy Sauteed Asian Vegetables

013 crop

 

Today was an awesome day at the farmer’s market and I got an unexpected find: Bok choy!    I have to admit, I don’t know much about farming, and I’m always excited to see whats fresh and local in these parts of the woods.  I grew up in NJ and I’m pretty good with knowing NJ’s seasonal foods.   Pick your own farms was one of my favorite activities when I lived on the east coast.   So far WA hasn’t really thrown me any curve balls.  Finding organic baby bok choy was like winning the lottery, and it was for one simple reason, this recipe.  It is so good, and simple to make.  Buckwheat soba noodles are completely gluten free (just make sure they are 100% buckwheat as sometimes they are made with wheat as well) so don’t be afraid of the name.   The whole dish comes together in about 10 minutes.

Cold Soba noodles with Healthy Sauteed Asian Vegetables

This makes 1 large serving, but you can easily double it

  • 1 bunch of soba buckwheat noodles (3 indivully wrapped sections come in 1 package)
  • 3 tbls vegetable broth
  • 1 crushed garlic (chop the  garlic ahead of time to release the enzymes, they should sit for at least 5 minutes)
  • 1/4 inch grated ginger
  • 2 baby bok choy bunches, cut the light green stems into 3/4 inch pieces and the leaves into 1/2 inch pieces.  Keep separate
  • 1/2 red pepper cut into 1 inch strips
  • 1/4 cup crimini mushrooms, sliced thin
  • 2 tbls braggs amino acids (you can use low sodium soy sauce but braggs has 13 essential amino acids and it is salty without all the sodium)
  • 1 scallion, chopped small
  • 1/4 tsp sesame oil
  • toasted sesame seeds

 

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and when ready, cook the buckwheat noodles 4 minutes.  Remove, and run under cold water and set aside.  In a large wok with a cover, bring the vegetable broth to a boil, put in the bok choy stems, and pepper.  Cover and cook 2 minutes.   After 2 minutes, add the stems and the mushrooms and cook another 2 minutes, uncovered.  If you want to mellow out the garlic and ginger you can add these the last minute of cooking.  Now toss the sesame oil, 1 tbls amino acid, and sesame seeds with the cold noodles, and top with the scallions.  The other 1 tbls amino acids is for the veggies.

 

Farmer’s markets are amazing places, if you do not have the money or the room to grow your own food, please go out and support your local organic farmers.  The food is fresher which means its more nutritous, it takes less energy to get to your plate which means less pollution, and you will be helping to keep local businesses running.  Plus, they’re fun.  I got an awesome green juice today made from things I had never thought of  juicing before.  I’ll share that with you guys in a later post, I don’t want to give too much away! LOL  So I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, get out there, buy organic, buy local.  You never know what you’re going to find!

 

 

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

