Green Detox Smoothie

 

001

 

This is not a smoothie for beginners   It tastes a bit like lemonade, at least to me, but for those that are new at more hardcore smoothies, a dash of stevia will help to make it sweeter.  However, a smoothie without all the fruit is a smoothie with less glycemic index.  I added green tea to this smoothie for one reason, and that was because I was running late to get my son to school this morning (first Monday back at school after a week off will do that) and missed my morning cup with lemon.  However, it is optional.

Raw radish is full of vitamin C, b-complex, zinc and phosphorous    The leaves are edible as well, having more protein, vitamin c and calcium then the roots.  If you have a radish with the leaves in tact, by all means add them to the smoothie along with the root.  Radish also helps asthmatics by relieving congestion and airways, and helps cleanse the blood, live and gallbladder   Raw radish should be included in the diet regularly, I often slice it up and put it on my salad, are make matchsticks with them and add them to my nori  wraps.

What some people don’t know is that romaine leaves are a complete protein, and if you are one who worries about oxalates, then romaine is a good alternative to spinach.  Some other nutrients it has are vitamin A and K, manganese, magnesium, copper, prosperous,  selenium (another vital mineral in the treatment of asthma) and zinc.   It blends well with any smoothie, since it has such a light flavor.

Overall, this  is a marvelous detox drink, working to cleanse and purify while aiding digestion.

Green Detox Drink

  • 4 romaine leaves
  • 5 kale leaves
  • 2 red radishes (leaves optional)
  • 1 lemon, peeled
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup green tea
  • 1 pinapple chunk
  • 1 green apple
11 thoughts on “Green Detox Smoothie

  1. My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog.

    He used to be entirely right. This publish actually made my day.

    You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

    • I’m so glad you happened to stumble upon my little section of the web 🙂 I hope you continue to enjoy the information I put out there. Thank you so much for leaving me such a wonderful comment!

  2. Pingback: The 11 Best Smoothie Ingredients « WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE

  3. Pingback: Detox Protein Smoothie | Food: A Love Story

  4. Pingback: Going Green Like Hulk | The Decision to Change

  5. Pingback: Zesty Green Detox Smoothie | Om girls Guide

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

