How to Make Dandelion Tea 3 ways (Dedicated to Earth Day)

001

In lieu of Earth day I am bringing you an article about gardening.  Well, not really.  I don’t have a garden.  But I do have a yard with a ton of dandelions in it!  Okay, so its not really my yard…its my neighbors yard, and she was happy enough to let me dig up some of these detox powerhouses.  I would have used my yard, which is right next door, but unfortunately my flowers are filled with dog pee.  (Thanks dogs! LOL)  Some people may despise them as a weed, but honestly nothing makes me happier then sitting in a green field speckled with yellow flowers.  Dandelions are completely edible.  From the yellow flower to the root.  It is mother nature’s way of saying its time to spring clean…your body.

Before using any part of the dandelion, please make sure to wash it off well, and don’t be afraid of any bugs that might be on it.  There is no food that you buy from the store that hasn’t once been touched by a bug or worm of some sort, so getting squeamish over seeing them personally is just silly.  I spray all my produce with a vinegar/water mixture, or I put some vinegar/water in a bowl and swish them around for a couple minutes, then rinse it off under cold running water.

016

My beautiful Dandelion flower tea

The Flower:

Go out in your yard (just make sure its pesticide free) and snip off the yellow flowers.  Now just like you were to brew tea, put the flowers in a cup and let them steep for 20 minutes.  Add some sweetener (I use stevia, but you can use honey) and enjoy a natural immunity boosting drink.  You can strain the flowers out, or eat them.

023

Dadelion Leaf Tea

The Leaves:

When picking leaves for tea, you want to find the young tender ones.  Snip them off right at the root.

004

Picking the young leaves

021

Wash them, chop them up, and place them, just like you would normal tea, in hot water and let it steep for 10-15 minutes.  The leaves tend to be a bit bitter if you steep it too long.  The leaves have more beta-carotene then carrots.  The leaves are also excellent in salads, and the french have been sauteing them for years.  They contain more iron and protein then spinach, and are overly abundant in vitamin K.

The Roots:

Dig deep down for the roots, which are also amazing to detox the liver.  Dandelion coffee is one of my favorite drinks besides green tea.  To roast the roots, you need to wash them VERY well.

This was a nice big one!

This was a nice big one!

Wash them well under cold water to get all the dirt off

Wash them well under cold water to get all the dirt off

after 1 wash

after 1 wash

You want the water to run clear, usually after about 10 rises under cold water.

Last wash

Last wash

Cut the roots up into tiny little pieces, or do as I did and put them in a food processor.  Place the pieces on a cookie sheet and place in a preheated 300 degree oven for 2 hours.  Nothing smells as sweet as dandelion roasting in your oven!

017

Pre Roast

This is what it will look like after 2 hours

This is what it will look like after 2 hours

Let steep for 10 minutes at least. I steep about 2 tsp and serve sweetened with stevia and lightened with whatever non-dairy milk I have on hand.  It is a great replacement for coffee! (sans the caffeine)

I hope you all have a wonderful Earth day, but remember, in truth, everyday is earth day!

Cheers!

Cheers!

35 thoughts on “How to Make Dandelion Tea 3 ways (Dedicated to Earth Day)

  1. Pingback: Don’t Let Monsanto Kill the Humble but Wholesome Dandelion | Dogma and Geopolitics

  2. Pingback: Violets, Dandelions, and Little Purple Flowers | SERENDIPITY

  3. Pingback: Tea Time! | Om girls Guide

  4. I woke up this morning extremely bloated and decided to see what I could use to relieve my bloating. Who knew ! I just happened to have some dandelions in my fride. I’m now brewing up a pot. Thanks for your help.

    • I brew the tea on my stove top with a lid on it. I use a sauce pan and keep the heat on the lowest setting so that it stays warm without boiling. However, after 10 minutes, even if you took it off the heat, it shouldn’t be cold with a lid on it. Strain it after you’re done brewing.

      • I added mint leaves and stevia leaves to mine and brew them all together. It tastes nice and minty and sweet.

      • Mmm that sounds wonderful! I’m glad you got creative. Tea is such a personal experience when were able to combine flavors like that!

  5. I’m going to take dandilion flowers and honeysuckles and brew them together I’ve looked it up both have amazing health benefits

    • Mmm honeysuckles! I’ve never had tea from that flower before but who doesn’t love the smell of them! I’m not sure there’s many honeysuckles where I live but I’d love to try that.

  6. Reblogged this on New England's Narrow Road and commented:
    Ever since I discovered I had kidney disease I am always on the lookout for anything that will help make me healthier. This is a great post about using dandelions as tea and especially the roots which help with kidney function.

  7. I am wondering about adding the “non dairy milk”. is that a personal choice, or is dairy milk something we should avoid in the dandelion root coffee ?
    i’m well excited to try this. our daughter loves to blow the seeds off the dandelion stalks, so we now have a garden covered in them !!

    • You can use dairy milk, I’m not a fan of it because most dairy milk contains Bovine Growth Hormone (rBGH) which also carries into it plenty of pus and antibiotics (all of which isn’t too wonderful for our little ones!) But of course, the milk you use is personal preference.

  8. So, gross question here but my yard is loaded with dandelions, and I have 2 dogs. Is there no way I could clean them enough to use them? :/

  9. I wouldn’t use foil when roasting the roots as the alluminium is transferred to food on heating. Other than that, I will be roasting some dandelion roots today… thanks for sharing this.

  10. Pingback: What’s at The Farmer’s Market in March? |

  11. Pingback: The truth about Dandelions | Arcoiris Design

  12. Sounds delicious i will have to try the teas. Another great nature teaI love is white pine needle tea. All I do is take one or two handfuls if fresh picked needles, cut the end of that were connect to the tree put them I’m my teapot with cold water bring it to a boil and let simmer for about ten minutes and the i steep it untill its a light pink/amber color. verr good afor you if you are still a little sluggish. also fot inflammation. ect. deffiniatly an aquried taste tho. hope you enjoy

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

