Natural Acne Face Mask

And now I shamelessly bring you a picture of myself hideously mustard yellow.  This picture was taken with my phone, so sorry its so grainy.  (Pun intended)

031

No, I’m not doing this to scare you, although mustard truly is not my color, I’m doing this to bring to you a natural face mask made from things you already have around your house.

Here is what you’re going to need:

  • 1 aspirin, make sure its the kind without coating
  • 1/4 tsp of raw honey
  • 1/4 tsp Tumeric powder
  • a drop of water

Mix it all together in a little  dish, and mix it with a fork.  Be careful not to use too much turmeric  because it tends to stain, however, this little bit is fine.  It will dry and you can wash it off after 10-15 minutes using a warm cloth.  Remember to close your pores after you’re done using cold water.

The reason why it works: Aspirin contains salicylic acid, which is the main ingredient in many pimple creams and face washes, it exfoliates and helps to clear up acne.  Honey helps sooth the skin and removes redness, and turmeric is antibacterial, anti-aging, and anti-inflammatory.

Tumeric will lighten dark spots and scars as well.  Just make a paste out of tumeric and water and put it on the spot you want to lighten every night and it will hardly be noticeable in about 2 weeks.

There are lots of other ways to do this online, some use milk and some use chickpea flour.  For darker skin, use more turmeric  up to 1 tsp.  My mask is fairly thin, you can make a thicker paste if you choose to.

16 thoughts on “Natural Acne Face Mask

  1. You are probably aware by now that I believe in prevention rather than attempting to cure after the event occurs.
    Acne occurs when steroids (androgens) stimulate the sebaceous glands within the skin’s hair follicles. These glands then secrete an oily substance called sebum. When sebum, bacteria and dead skin cells build up on your skin, the pores become blocked, creating acne. About 80 percent of cows that are giving milk are pregnant and are throwing off hormones continuously.’ Progesterone breaks down into androgens, which have been implicated as a factor in the development of acne…Dr. Fisher observed that teenage acne patients improved as soon as the milk drinking stopped.”
    (Don’t Drink Your Milk, by Frank Oski, M.D. (Director, Department of Pediatrics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine)

    “We studied the effects of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factors (IGFs), alone and with androgen, on sebaceous epithelial cell growth…IGF-I was the most potent stimulus of DNA synthesis. These data are consistent with the concept that increases in GH and IGF production contribute in complementary ways to the increase in sebum production during puberty.”
    Endocrinology, 1999 Sep, 140:9, 4089-94

    • I actually didn’t know that milk was a cause of acne, thank you for the information! Since I don’t drink milk, I would assume my breakouts, which are usually barely noticeable to anyone but myself, is due to clogged pores and hormones. I need to up my water intake!

      • You would not believe how many times people tell me they don’t have dairy, and when we test we find they have dairy on an almost daily basis in other foods, such as breads, pickles, lunches and dinners in cafe’s and restaurants and so on. I am allergic to dairy, potatoes and intolerant to onion. I just HATE going out for either lunch or dinner. The other day I wanted to buy some packaged noodles to make Singapore noodles. You would not believe it but it contained potato starch and dairy! One of my clients just rang me with a problem. She is a cancer sufferer and ordered a cup of tea with soy milk in a cafe. She got cows milk!. It goes to show you that you can not trust anyone, in particular in the US, where there is dairy in practically everything, probably including roofing tiles and car parts.

      • Well I certainly haven’t had any dairy for quite some time since I am very careful to read lables and I don’t eat out. (I have way too much food at home making dishes for this blog! Lol) but cross contamination can defiantly be an issue I’m sure. When I was little I was lactose intolerant. So badly that I had to get my stomach pumped from the gas bubbles. So it isn’t out of the realm of possibilities that some food has been made in a place with dairy.

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may come
    back sometime soon. I want to encourage that
    you continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  3. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how
    to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  4. Pingback: Acne Advice Anyone Can Find Quite Useful | Acne Blog | Free Tips, Resources and information | KILL Your Acne

  5. Pingback: Homemade Acne Face Mask | Acne Pimple Treatment

  6. Pingback: Tumeric – facial mask from your own kitchen | Your Fairy Godmother

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

