DIY Deodorant – Leave the Chemicals to the CHEMISTS!

Since my post about natural beauty care has been somewhat buried, I am sharing with you now my natural deodorant recipe.  I want you to go get your deodorant and read the ingredients.  Unless you’re using a natural deodorant, like one made from Tom’s of Maine, it is a list filled with things that you probably have no idea of how to even pronounce.  And it is filled with things that you most definitely don’t want to put on your body, remember, it takes 26 seconds for a substance on your skin to reach your bloodstream.  26 seconds.  Here is a link to an article about chemicals finding their way into the womb: http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/06/01/backpack.cord.blood/index.html  I’ll give you a minute to read it.  Its quite disturbing.

From Living in a Toxic World, “Deodorants simply mask odor. They contain some chemicals that should be avoided such as formaldehyde and propylene glycol. The spray on versions use propellants such as butane and propane which are not exactly the best things to be inhaling.”

Besides those toxins, there are others lurking in your deodorant (and other beauty products you might be using) under the innocent sounding description of “fragrance”.

From the Huffington Post, regarding the use of fragrances: “The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has direct authority under the terms of the 1938 Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act to regulate toxic ingredients in cosmetics and personal care products. However, seven decades later, it has still failed to do so. Similarly, the Environmental Protection Agency has also still failed to regulate these toxic ingredients in household cleaning products.”

In independent studies (meaning those not funded by the industries producing the products) conducted by the Environmental Health Network of California, two separate labs were tasked at finding out why people were making claims of respiratory, neurological  and other toxic effects of the perfumes by calvin klein.  They found 25 irritants, 5 allergens, 3 chemicals that showed, “Fetal, hormonal, and reproductive toxicity”, and 2 carcinogens.

That was just one product that uses “fragrance”, now think about how often we spritz, rub, and spray these toxins on and around our body every day.

This is why I make my own perfume, I make my own deodorant, and I make my own body lotion.  I even make my own toothpaste, but that’s a whole other post.

I didn’t invent any of the beauty care recipes that I use, I’m not that clever.  I’m a good cook, but I’m most certainly not a chemist.  However, the deodorant recipe that I’m going to share is one that I have personally been using for over two months now, and I haven’t had any complaints.  I’ve even had my husband give me the sniff test.

There’s one thing I’m going to have to add before I get on with the recipe, though.  Your body odor is directly correlated with what you eat.  The cleaner you eat, the less you smell.  If you put in toxins, you’re going to get out toxins.  The saying, “you are what you eat,” has never been more true in this situation.   Your sweat actually has no smell to it, the smell is caused by bacteria.  If you are filling your body with fried food, processed food, and things with ingredients that you can’t even pronounce, it has to come out somewhere.  It comes out in your sweat, it comes out in your farts…and the best way to get it to stop is to stop feeding the bad bacteria.  I can go into a whole spiel about pro-biotics (the kind found in tofu and other fermented foods) but I’ll leave that to another post.

Oh, and quit smoking.  That’s like 500 toxic chemicals in a nicely sized little package.  (okay so 500 might be an exaggeration, but I think I made my point)

Okay! So now the recipe!

011

  • 6 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup of baking soda
  • 1/4 cup of arrowroot or cornstarch (depending on your preferences)
  • your favorite essential oil

I use my food processor to whip this all together in one easy step, by if you are doing it by hand, then first mix the dry ingredients, then add in the wet and mix it all up with a fork.  I store it in an old glass mason jar.  Sometimes it gets a bit solid, but that’s only because the coconut is hard at room temp.  Just run the glass under hot water for a minute and it will soften right up.  I apply it with my hand, just rubbing it on.  It doesn’t smear, or make my clothes oily at all.

Lavender oil is gentle for all skin types.  It is also is soothing and antimicrobial, so its great to use after you shave.  I use it for everything from burns and cuts, to the vinegar water I use to wash my floors.

Some other good scents to use are pure vanilla extracts, grapefruit essential oils, lemon essential oil, really anything you want to smell like you can add in.

References:
11 thoughts on “DIY Deodorant – Leave the Chemicals to the CHEMISTS!

  1. Reblogged this on wholebodychange and commented:
    Amazing recipe to think about if you are going the all natural way. Definitely one I will be trying…. As the article clearly states, deodorants have toxic chemicals that you most certainly do not want in your body!! Great read!

  2. Too .True. I’m going to have to be careful to not have a umm – what she said! AND did you know about THIS __________!!!! thing going on in my own blog. 🙂

  3. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The words in your post seem to be running off the
    screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let
    you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.

    Cheers

  4. Excellent items from you, man. I’ve remember your stuff previous to and you are simply too great. I really like what you’ve bought right here, certainly
    like what you’re saying and the way wherein you say it. You make it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it sensible. I cant wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  5. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and
    I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  6. Pingback: Should You Wear Deodorant? | Through Ian's Eyes.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

