Pink Berry Tofu Smoothie

crop

This smoothie will blow you away with its sweet taste, its so good that I gave some to my neighbor, who’s taken me on as her nutritionist, and swears she hates tofu, liked the sample I gave to her, although she said it was “different” (she’s not used to vegetable smoothies at all).  Her husband, however, said it was, “REALLY good!”   For those of you who are no beginner to the world of vegetable smoothies, you will only taste sweet pink goodness. Add half a cup of protein-probiotic goodness that is tofu, and you’ll be reaching for that second serving before you can stop yourself!

Pink Berry Tofu Smoothie

makes 2 servings

  • 2 cups oat milk
  • 1/2 cup silken tofu
  • 1 red beet, peeled
  • 5 kale leaves
  • 1/2 cup broccoli, with about 4 inches of the stem
  • 10 strawberries
  • a handful of blueberries (about 1/3 cup)
  • 2 dates
  • 1 red apple, cored

blend all in a high speed blender (I use a vitamix) until its smooth.   I put the liquid, tofu, and beet and blended it up first, then added the rest of the ingredients so that it wouldn’t take too long to and get hot.

I love beets in smoothies.  Foods in the beet family (chard, spinach, and quinoa) have a number of properties that are not seen anywhere else. Raw beets are full of phytonutrients called belatinin.  The same phytonutrient is also in chard and rhubarb, but beets have it to the extreme.   That’s why the dye everything red!  Its a wonderful vegetable to add to your detox program because of this.  It’s also anti-inflamatory, and an awesome antioxidant.  After consuming raw beets your urine may turn pink, which can be caused by an iron deficiency.  (this happened to me the first time I started eating beets more often, I completely freaked out that I had internal bleeding lol)    From the Worlds Healthiest Foods website:

An estimated 10-15% of all U.S. adults experience beeturia (a reddening of the urine) after consumption of beets in everyday amounts. While this phenomenon is not considered harmful in and of itself, it may be a possible indicator of the need for healthcare guidance in one particular set of circumstances involving problems with iron metabolism. Individuals with iron deficiency, iron excess, or specific problems with iron metabolism are much more likely to experience beeturia than individuals with healthy iron metabolism. For this reason, if you experience beeturia and have any reason to suspect iron-related problems, we recommend a healthcare consult to follow up on possible issues related to iron status.

As it so happens, my doctor has put me on iron supplements in the past because I am in fact, a bit iron deficient.  However, since that first time of having raw beets, it hasn’t happened.

Later today I’m cooking up a vegan, gluten-free pizza, so make sure you come back to my blog, because its going to be awesome!

 

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=49

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

