Banana bakedcakes (aka pancakes) Vegan, gluten free

Ahh, the weekend, the time when we have enough leisure time to actually make breakfast.  This morning, as promised on my FB and Twitter page, I bring to you my vegan, gluten free banana pancakes, cooked two ways and smothered with my berry sauce!

My baked pancakes, half eaten!

My bakedcakes, (oven version) half eaten!

I made them two ways, because frankly, I’m lazy and I hate standing over a pan cooking for any length of time.  Plus, the pan version needs oil of some sort, and you guys know how I feel about cooking in oil.  I do occasionally use coconut oil, and this was one of those times.  Coconut oil is anti-microbial and has a host of health benefits, while allowing you to heat it up to high temps without it becoming a carcinogen, but it still raises LDL levels (bad cholesterol) so it should be used sparingly and not often.  On top of all that, the pan version kept falling apart when I flipped it… they stayed together just fine in the oven, and tasted the same.  My son ate the 3 I made in the pan and I ate the the ones from the oven.  The ones from the oven were in fact so good, that you could just eat them the way they are without any sauce, they kind of look like little bread cookies.  I call my oven baked version aptly bakedcakes!

Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tbls agave

Put all the ingredients in a sauce pan and cover it up over medium heat, letting it come to a boil and reduce the berries.  They will start to disintegrate.  After about 10 minutes you can uncover it and let is thicken to the desired consistency.  I let it go another 5 minutes.  Serve over your favorite waffle or pancakes, and keep it in an airtight jar up to 2 weeks.  (Honestly, I don’t even have any left to store after breakfast this morning, my son was licking it off the plate)

Pan version of my pancakes

Pan version of my pancakes

Bakedcakes:

  • 2 mushed bananas
  • 1 tbls chia seeds soaked in 1/3 cup water for 5 minutes
  • 1 cup almond meal flour
  • 1 dash stevia
  • 1/2 tbls baking soda
  • drop of vanilla extract (I didn’t measure, but i’d  say it was 1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed
  • 1/3 cup water

Pre Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  I used my trusty food processor to mix all the ingredients together, but i’m sure you could do it by hand using a fork or a whisk.  I didn’t soak the flax seed in the water this time, I just let it soak up the excess liquid in the batter mix.  So while the oven was preheating, the batter was sitting out for a  few minutes getting itself “together” as it may be lol.  I put some extra flour on a cookie sheet and layed out my pancake batter in little circles, just like I was making cookies.  I let them cook for 15 minutes, flipping once at the last 5 minutes and then they were done!

Oven version of my pancakes

Oven version of my pancakes

011

My son enjoying his healthy breakfast!

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

