The Fastest Lunch You Ever Made – healthy sauteed vegetabels over ramen noodles

030 crop

Here is a fast and easy lunch using healthy sauteed vegetables. (see a how to video and instructions here)  I just put up a video showing how to healthy saute some onions and garlic, I had made one for these vegetables since I did them all in one pan at  the same time, but I had put some good info in the first video I had made that I forgot to talk about in my second attempt, so the first one went up instead.

Noodle Salad:

  • 1 package ramen style noodles, I used Green Noodles, just a heads up, they are vegan but they are NOT gluten free.  Cook according package instructions.
  • 4 tbls vegetable broth
  • 1 carrot, cut into little pieces
  • half a red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • 1 baby bok choy, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, diced small or crushed
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced

Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup amino acids
  • 1 tsp agave (or honey)
  • 1/2  tsp sesame oil

Mix it all up in a bowl and let it sit while you cook the vegetables.

Heat the broth up in the pan with a lid on, when it starts to steam, add the carrots, onion, pepper, and baby bok choy to the pan,  cover it back up and cook for another 2 minutes.  After the 2 minutes are up, uncover it, and add the garlic and cook for another 2 minutes.  Toss the noodles with the sauce and the raw cucumber.  Enjoy!  Lunch doesn’t get any easier then this, huh?

A note on bell peppers, they are in the nightshade family which means that some people have adverse reactions when eating them.  However, you know your body better then anyone else.  I don’t have any issues eating things in the nightshade family, eggplants, bell peppers, tomatoes, potatoes and cayenne pepper.  Red bell peppers have the most antioxidants, as opposed to green, yellow, and orange, which are just less mature versions of the red pepper.  Healthy sauteing red peppers is the best way to cook them because high heat and over cooking kills off most of the delicate phytonutrients.  It is over abundant in vitamin C, vitamin A, b6, folate, vitamin E, and fiber.

4 thoughts on “The Fastest Lunch You Ever Made – healthy sauteed vegetabels over ramen noodles

  1. Love all the fresh produce that is emerging now that it is finally spring! I just made a summer vegetable soup that is easy and super healthy that I’m sure you would love (recipe on blog).

    • I definitely agree, I missed the farmer’s market today, and I’m really upset about that, but my kitchen is stocked up for the week anyway! I checked out your blog and it looks very nice! I got into running at one point in my life, maybe you will inspire me to pursue it once more.

      • I make sure I walk once a day (and there are a lot of hills here), but running takes a certain mind set!! I defiantly agree, eating right and exercise go hand in hand. I feel weird eating right and not doing SOMETHING physical at least once a day. I like yoga too. I think we all need to find our “something”

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

