Portabella Burgers

001

Nothing says BBQ like a good old fashioned burger!  I opt for the healthier version of the more saturated fat laden kind with a wonderfully marinated portabella mushroom cap, some vegan cheddar cheese (I highly recommend daiya brand) and a vegan mayo.

I had plans to make my won gluten free bun, but I was really pressed for time so instead I bought an organic all natural whole wheat bun.  I did buy gluten free bread flour and will be making a bun from scratch when I’m not bbq’ing in less then an hour.  I literally had enough time to get to the store to buy the mushrooms and put the marinade together, when I came home to find all my neighbors out already beginning to  grill.  When buying bread, make sure there are no ingredients you can’t pronounce.  Ezekiel brand sprouted burger bun is a really good choice.  I do try to avoid gluten as much as possible, but since I’m not intolerant and its more for digestive purposes, its really not a problem for me to indulge every once in while.    However, it does slow down digestion, since gluten acts like a glue (its what gives pasta its chew, and bread its bounce), it does the same thing to our color and gut.  It can be enjoyed but always in moderation.  Listen to your body, if you have a rough time the next day, or you have a lack of energy following a big gluten filled meal, then you might be gluten-intolerant.

Portabella mushroom Marinade:

  • 2 Portabella mushroom caps, washed well
  • 4 Tbsp Organic Stone Ground Mustard
  • 4 Tbsp balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp organic Hot sauce
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 tsp salt and pepper

Combine all marinade ingredients by whisking them with a fork.  Put the marinade and the mushrooms in a ziplock bag and marinade up for two hours.  (I only had time to marinade them for a half hour and they still turned out awesome)

For the burger:

  • Vegan mayo
  • 1 mashed avocado, juice 1/2 a lemon on it so it doesn’t turn brown
  • 1 slice of tomato per burger
  • romaine lettuce, shredded
  • 1 slice vegan cheese per burger (I used daiya brand cheddar)
  • 1 marinaded mushroom

Spread the mayo on both sides of the bun, put the mashed avocado down on one side, then layer the tomato, lettuce and cheese.  Cook the mushroom on direct heat about 5 minutes or until it gets browned.  Move it to the top rack of the grill and close it up for another 5 minutes to let it wilt a bit.  Put it on your burger and enjoy the juicy goodness.  Bring extra napkins, this one is messy!

I served this up with my Creamy Dill and Sweet Potato recipe, which I served cold much like a potato salad =)  Another healthy side dish would be some mashed cauliflower with roasted garlic, which I’ll post a recipe up for soon!

BBQ’s are a great way to get to know your neighbors.  Get out there and have a block party, you never know who you’ll meet in your own backyard.  Happy Cinco De Mayo everyone!

My son playing with the other neighborhood kids, he was pretending to be iron man.

My son playing with the other neighborhood kids, he was pretending to be iron man.

4 thoughts on “Portabella Burgers

  1. Pingback: Shopping for the first five days | a detox story

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

