I need to Detox!

English: Holistic health, body, mind, heart, soul

English: Holistic health, body, mind, heart, soul (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have not been eating as well as I should the past two days, because yesterday was my birthday and today is mother’s day.  And that’s okay, we all deserve some cake every now and then, or pizza as is my case.  (nothing like a good old birthday pizza, right? lol)  I even had a coffee!  And no, I’m not freaking out about it, because once we start sticking to eating “rules” then we are on a diet.  And we all know how diets don’t work.  I’ve mentioned that its okay to go off of your normal healthy patterns for special occasions.  But afterwords, its a really good idea to cleanse.

Everyone needs to detox every now and then.  A detox is just simply a way to allow your body to do what it does best, get rid of toxins.  There is no miracle product out there that can do this for you since your body is already doing it every minute of every day.  Your lungs, muscles, skin, and internal organs (kidneys and liver) are constantly flushing out toxins from your body.  Of course if your body is over loaded then its going to be a slow process.  In a perfect world with no plastics, no pesticides, no GMO’s, no air pollution ..our body would be just fine.  But  the world is not perfect and even if we did eat very very clean, its always a good idea to give our bodies a little help in the right direction.

There are number of ways to cleanse your body.

  • Juicing – replace all your meals with green vetable juices for three days
  • Dry skin brushing – before you shower, take a hard bristled brush and rub your skin lightly in small circles from head to toe
  • Saunas – sweating in general is a great detox
  • Drink lots of water with lemon or Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Drinking Detox Teas – Senna leaf, Dandalion Root, Burdok Root, Sarsparilla, Horse Tail, False Unicorn

 

Well I don’t like juicing because it leaves me starving, but I do like to make smoothies, so I’m incorporating that into my cleanse.  Smoothie for breakfast, light lunch, and smoothie for dinner.  I will be drinking Senna tea for two days (one cup at night before bed…its a laxative so you don’t want to over do it)  I will not be having any cooked foods, only light salads and things like nori wraps.   I will be only doing light exercise  When we work out, our body produces lactic acid, which it has to remove.  As I’ve mentioned, we want less things for it to have to remove.   And lastly, I will be drinking lots of lemon water and water with Apple Cider Vinegar.    I will also be running out to the store because I’m out of burdock and sarsprilla tea lol.

Happy mother’s day everyone!  During this time of summer BBQ’s and parties, remember that its okay to indulge every now and then, but we must have a plan of action to get our bodies back in check!

 

 

6 thoughts on “I need to Detox!

  1. Instead of juicing, which will leave you hungry (A sign the body is short of nutrients) try a diet of root vegetables, such as sweet potato, turnips, parsnips, swedes, carrots, taro, beetroot, radish, Yam, and Jerusalem artichokes. They are not only very nutritious, full of vitamins, minerals and trace elements, but also high in fibre, necessary to ‘scrape out’ the lining of the gut and promote peristalsis, which juice fasting does not do. And instead of just a fast for a few days, make this a lifelong habit. You’ll be pleasantly surprised with the difference it makes in the way you feel, and the incredible amount of energy you’ll have. Juicing will detox the kidneys, while the above diet will detox the whole digestive system.

    • yes I’m not doing a juice cleanse. I’m going to just do smoothies and salads, which will include yams and beets and things like that. I am a big fan of fiber lol. I only strayed from my normal routine for two days so I think a mild cleanse, just to allow all that crap I ate for my birthday a chance to clear out. Then I’ll be back to vegan and eating normally again! =)

      • I generalized in my reply! When you mentioned; ‘I don’t like juice fasting because it leaves me starving’, I thought; There is no need to starve on a detox. There are other ways of doing it. I realize that, in the US, juice fasts are recommended by a lot of so called ‘health guru’s’, but there are alternative, and better ways of detoxing than just juicing.

      • ahh okay, yeah my school taught juice cleansing among the ways to detox. Of course, if we just ate healthy all the time there would be no need, like you said. And I’m not really a fan of juice fasting in general. Fiber was put there for a reason.

  2. Thank you for noting that you specifically AREN’T juice cleansing because it leaves you hungry! I have a strong theory that juice fasts can end up doing us more harm than good, due to the extreme hunger that can result (possibly leading to overeating later). In fact, I have a video in relation to it on my blog. I’ll link it below in case you or your readers are interested–please feel free to check it out!
    http://nourishedblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/juicing-the-ultimate-health-tip/

    -Samantha, The Nourished Soul

    • wonderful video! I completely agree. Mother Nature put fiber in our food for a reason. My school suggest juice cleansing as a way to “give the body a break” but I’m not all that much of a fan.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

