Vegan Gluten-free Stuffed Mushrooms

Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms

These are SO good, I’m sitting here eating them as I type even though I just had a giant salad.  Serve these to your non-vegan friends and they won’t even know the difference, I promise.  Just a warning, they can get messy!  =)

I used day old fresh baked gluten-free vegan bread.  I used a gluten-free bread mix, and energ egg replacer to make the bread.  No salt added or sugar.  We ate half of it, and the rest of it I let sit out on my counter over night to get hard. I only used one slice of the bread to make bread crumbs, but its very dense.  Some good pre-made vegan, gluten free breads are made by ener-g as well.  They have tapioca bread, and brown rice bread.

Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms:

  • 8 Large White mushrooms with the middle stem removed (you can use crimini for more nutrition, but the white ones are bigger)

Stuffing:

  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 handful fresh chives
  • 1/4 cup tofutti vegan cream cheese (I used herbs and chive flavor)
  • 1 ounce stale gluten free bread slice (I had baked some bread last night so used a slice of it this morning)
  • 2 tbsp flax milk
  • 1/4 cup firm tofu
  • 2 slices vegan swiss cheese
  • 1/3 cup organic stone ground mustard
  • 1 egg replacer (I used Ener-g – its 1 1/2 tsp powder to two tbs warm water for 1 egg)
  • pinch of salt

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix up all ingredients in a food processor until smooth.  Line a cooking pan with parchment paper, and fill each mushroom with the stuffing mixture.  Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.  When its done, sprinkle the top with chopped fresh chives.

 

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

