Steamed Pumpkin Pot Stickers with Ponzu Sauce

Pumpkin Pot Stickers with Ponzu Sauce

 

I’ve been brainstorming these babies all month!  I had found some  organic canned pumpkin on sale and I knew I had to make something out of it.  While Pumpkin is a more winter time vegetable, you can find canned pumpkin all year round and this is what I used.  Making this versatile vegetable into pot stickers gives it a whole new dimension and wonderful flavor.    I had tried making the filling the with cilantro but it overpowered the flavor of the sauce.  By all means though, play around with it.  Some other ideas I had to add to make it more  crunchy was cabbage and water chestnuts.  Like I always say, cooking should be fun, and you shouldn’t be afraid to experiment!

These wrappers are not gluten-free, I have no idea if you can even buy gluten-free wrappers anywhere, but I did however find a recipe to make your own, I’ll add the link at the end.  These are not homemade wrappers, however, but the ponzu sauce is all my own, as is the filling.

Ponzu Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp Siracha hot sauce
  • 2 tbsp Liquid Amino Acid
  • 1 tbsp Rice Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Mirin
  • 1 dash stevia
  • 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 tbsp lime juice

Filling:

  • 1 inch of ginger, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced and let to sit at least 10 minutes
  • 1 tbsp vegetable broth
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 tsp amino acid
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 1 tsp lime juice

Bring the vegetable broth to a boil in a pan and cook the ginger and garlic, covered, 1 minute.  Uncover and let the liquid evaporate, about 1 minute more.  If any extra liquid remains, drain it off.  In a food processor, add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until its all mixed up and finely chopped.

Bring about 2 inches of water to a boil with a steamer insert.  Fill the wrappers with 1 tsp each of the filling, then fold them over in half.  To seal them, dip your finger in some water and wet the very outer edge and press them closed around the outside.  Stand them up in the steamer insert and let them cook about 5-7 minutes.

How to make Gluten Free wrappers:

http://gardenofglutenfree.com/2012/03/18/deliciously-gluten-free-asian-pot-stickers/

5 thoughts on “Steamed Pumpkin Pot Stickers with Ponzu Sauce

  1. This is a great & tasty recipe & just in time, because I still hand some canned organic pumpkin at the house too & thought what I would do with it ,..this is a very creative tasty recipe! It looks soooooo delicious!!!

  2. I made these using the gluten-free wrapper recipe you suggested which was great! But I have a lot of filling left over. Any ideas on spicing it up a bit more for the next batch? I’m just learning how to cook & this was a fun adventure – thank you!

    • You could try using Chinese five spice, its sweet aromatic spice that might go well with these. I haven’t tried it yet, but if you do let me know how it turns out!

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

