Vegan Pancit (Gluten Free as well!)

Pancit is a Filipino dish, and one that I could eat anytime. Once I was sick, the type of  sick where I had no appetite for two days, but when my mother in law brought me up a plate of pancit I couldn’t say no.  Its a dish that brings the family together, chopping up all the ingredients into little tiny pieces.  No one can agree on a recipe.  When I asked my in-laws for the recipe, my in-laws started arguing about the proper way to cook it.  My father in law makes it with soy sauce, but my mother in law swears by bullion.  But no matter the recipe, everyone can agree that its amazing.  Pancit is always  cooked for special occasions, and its usually made in a huge batch for 20 people.  I’ve taken my mother in laws recipe, shrunk it down, and vegan-ized it.  She uses white fish balls which I’ve replaced with white mushrooms, and in place of the chicken bullion I’ve used vegan bullion.  I left out the  celery because I didn’t have any, and instead used peppers.  Plus, I didn’t cook anything in oil.   Since my husband isn’t here, and I’m the only one who tasted it, I’d love to hear from you guys when you try this recipe.  Although I will definitely be making it for my husband on his homecoming!

vegan Pancit

  • 1 cup cooked rice stick noodles ( you soak these in hot water for 8 minutes and then drain)
  • 1 cup cooked mung bean noodles (same as the rice stick noodles, so soak them at the same time)
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 10 white button mushrooms
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth + 2 tbs reserved
  • 1  tbsp vegan chicken flavored bullion + 1 tsp
  • 1 tbsp amino acid (optional)

(I do all of this in a big wok)

Heat the 2 tbsp reserved vegetable stock, and mix in 1 tsp reserved vegan bullion, mix it up well.  When the stock starts to steam, add the pepper, mushrooms and carrot, and cover it up.  Let it cook for 2 minutes then remove it to a plate.  Now take the gardien patties and heat it in the pan until its lightly browned, then remove that to a separate plate and dice it up.  Now take the 1/3 cup vegetable broth, and mix in 1 tbsp of the vegan bullion until its nice and mixed up and then add the noodles, making sure the heat is really low.  Mix it up until the noodles start changing to yellow, so you know the broth is getting absorbed.  If it is not salty enough you can add some amino acids at this point.   Run a knife through the noodles to cut  them up a bit.   Now add back the vegetables and the gardien patties.   Serve with a lemon wedge or two to squeeze over the top and enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Pancit (Gluten Free as well!)

  1. Pingback: David’s Pancit with Bacon, Salmon, Vegetables and more Seafood | food flavor fascination

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

