Green Olive Tapenade over Vegan Cutlets and Pasta

So I mentioned I had bought a whole lot of olives, and besides snacking on them every time I open my fridge, I’ve  been brainstorming up some recipe ideas.  This meal is really quick to make, and its fancy enough to impress any dinner guest!  You can exclude the cutlets if you wish and just server this over pasta, or for my non vegan friends, the tapenade would work wonderfully over white fish or chicken.

I have to say, that the vegan fake meat is not what it used to be.  Its really great for people who are transitioning to the vegan lifestyle.  I have to mention, however, that there is debate about the risks and benifits associated with consuming too much of the soy bean isolate that is used to create these fake meats.  While eating tofu and tempeh, (the fermented version of the soy bean) is excellent for your health, it is hard to digest the soy protein isolate.   I see no reason to forgo the stuff completely, however eat it in moderation, just to be on the safe side.

All fake meat products use vital wheat gluten as one of the main ingredients.  So this is NOT a gluten free food.

003

Olive Tapenade:

  • 10 green olives stuffed with red peppers
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 organic vine ripe tomato
  • 1/2 tbsp Olive oil

In a food processor, blend all the ingredients up until its roughly chopped.  It should only take 1 minute.

 

“Chicken”

  • 2 Vegan “Chicken” cutlets (I use gardien brand)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • salt and pepper

Melt the coconut oil in the pan, and cook the cutlets 3 minutes on each side or until lightly browned.  When its done, season one side with salt and pepper.

 

I served this over regular  pasta (unfortunately I was out of rice pasta which would have been my first choice, but my son is home sick today and I couldn’t run out to the store).  Just place the cutlets over the pasta, then scoop a nice serving over the chicken.

010

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

