Stevia – What 1 dash REALLY means

001

 

This is Stevia.  Stevia is an herb, like oregano or basil.  I often say, “1 dash Stevia” in my recipes, and I thought that I should clarify exactly what I mean by that.  A dash of stevia is about the size of your pinky nail, and it is sweeter then a tbsp of white sugar.   My stevia comes from Trader Joe’s, but you can find it in large groceries as well, usually in the supplement isle because the USDA does not approve it for sale other then as a dietary supplement.  Japan has been using for centuries, and its very safe, has no glycemic index, and will not make you gain weight, or get cancer like other sugar replacers.

003

This is 1 dash of stevia. It comes with this little scooper.

 

Stevia is not the same thing as Truvia.  Truvia has xylotol in it, which is a fruit sugar.  It has sugar in it.  Real Stevia is NOT sugar.  The only ingrediant it should have in it is STEVIA.

The Trader Joe’s Stevia has a little spoon that comes with it, and when my recipe calls for 1 or 2 dash’s of stevia, this is what I mean.  I love it, it is the only sweetener I use, besides honey and agave.  So, I hope I’ve cleared some things up for the people who were curious.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

