Creamy Avocado “Alfredo” (Vegan)

avacado "alredo"

 

This dish was created because I had pasta and an avocado that was going to go bad if I didn’t make it.  After much thought, I figured I would make a nice creamy sauce, and to tell you the truth, I wasn’t sure it was going to taste very good.  I was pleasantly surprised, it came out rich and delicious, and though I don’t usually like cooking in butter (even vegan butter)  I figured one time was worth it.  The garlic is very strong here, so if you have an aversion to very garlic-y dishes, by all means use less.

 

Avocado Alfredo:

  • 6 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 tbsp vegan butter
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1 cup unsweetened regular almond milk
  • 2 tbsp basil
  • Juice of 1 large lemon (about 4 tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a pan, warm up the butter, and then cook the garlic quickly, keeping it from burning, about 5 minutes.

While the garlic is cooking, place the avocado and milk in a blender and blend until smooth.  Add the avocado puree to the pan where the garlic should be nice and fragrant, add the basil, the lemon juice, and nutritional yeast.   Cook it about 3 minutes, and then season with salt and pepper.

Serve with a slice of lemon.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado “Alfredo” (Vegan)

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.

