Healthy Homemade Granola Bars

Cinamon Raison Cranberry Granola Bars

Cinamon Raison Cranberry Granola Bars

 

Jackson is 5 weeks old now and I’m almost used to being sleep deprived!  Thank god for my husband, I’m going to miss him so much when he goes underway…which is coming up pretty soon.  Although I have yet to venture into a store with my two munchkins alone (Fred Meyer doesn’t count because they have one hour day care lol) there are certain things that I’m getting really good at, like multi tasking!

10402734_317916625031517_6517000873367847929_n

Bath time AND bed time? I got this!!

I’m not really sure what I would do without baby wearing at this point.  I’m actually typing this up while my LO is sound asleep on my chest in my Beco Gemini LOL.  One thing that is really hard though, is dealing with my ravenous hunger.  I feel like a bottomless pit.  (Breastfeeding will do that to a woman.)   At night, when my little guy wakes up at 4 am and won’t go  back to bed, I have a choice…either go downstairs and make myself food (and risk stimulating Jackson to the point of no return and NEVER GETTING BACK TO SLEEP AGAIN) or stocking my bedside table with easy snacks.   I chose the latter.

So today I decided to cook up some really healthy and filling granola bars.  You’ll never buy store bought again when you see how easy it is to make these guys, and you can totally customize them, adding any nuts and dried fruits you want.  Plus, they are totally kid friendly.  Not to mention, homemade are much healthier then store bought, which are loaded with sugars and preservatives.

Oh! And to any other breastfeeding mama’s out there, oats and almonds are great for milk production.  Not that you needed another reason to make these easy treats!

So the first recipe is my Dark Chocolate Cherry Granola, and then just for fun I whipped up Cinnamon Raisin Cranberry Granola bars.  Because you can never have too many  healthy snacks.  They are egg free, dairy free, and can be gluten free if you use gluten free oats.

Chocolate Cherry Granola bar

Chocolate Cherry Granola Bar

I sweetened these with farmer’s market honey and organic molasses.   The molasses add magnesium and potassium while giving it a nice rich dark flavor that lends itself nicely to the dark chocolate.  Plus its filled with flax seeds, pepitas, and slivered almonds giving you healthy proteins, and omega 3’s for lasting energy.  Coconut oil is packed with lauric acid, which protects the immune system and is great for nursing infants.   If you’ve followed along with my older blog posts, you know that I’m not big on using a lot of oils in my cooking, even healthy coconut oil, but when nursing, a mother needs all the healthy fats she can get.  Coconut oil is one of the best oils there is for you, plus in these bars it gives an incredible coconuty flavor.    If you would like to skip it though, you can substitute applesauce.

Dark Chocolate Cherry Granola Bars

  • 2 Cups gluten free rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup organic honey
  • 1/4 cup organic molasses
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup  almond flour
  • 2 tbs flax seeds
  • 1/3 cup pepitas
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup raw slivered almonds
  • 1/3 cup almond butter
  • pinch of salt

Pre heat an oven to 350 degrees, and oil a baking pan.  8×8 is a good size.  Mix all the ingredients in a bowl (I did this by hand) and then lay it all into the oiled pan, pressing it in flat making sure its even all around.  Cook for 20 minutes and then let it cool for at least 2 hours.

Cinamon Raisin Cranberry Granola bar

These next bars have way fewer ingredients, but I was on a role with the first batch and I already had the oven hot, so I figured I’d make another flavor.  Why not, right?  They freeze well and they keep for a long time (at least 2 weeks) so it never hurts to make extra.  I skipped the oil this time and went straight for the applesauce, mostly for the flavor.

Cinnamon Raisin Cranberry Granola Bars

  • 3 Cups rolled oats (I didn’t used gluten free for this recipe, but feel free to do so, it won’t change the flavor or the measurements)
  • 1/3 cup almond flour
  • 4 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs flax seed
  • 1/2 cup organic raisins
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup organic honey
  • pinch of salt

 

6 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Granola Bars

  1. Oh my gosh! These look sooo good! And your blog brought back a TON of memories from the first few weeks of my sons life – boy it was hard. I feel for you being sleep deprived…that was the worst part for me. Thanks for the recipe!! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

    • Thanks! I checked out your blog too, seems we’re in the same page in the baby department lol. I haven’t quite gotten back into the exercise part of my schedule yet, but I’m quite good at finding time to eat haha

      • I ate almost every time my son did for a while. It was so comforting to eat while I nursed…especially at the beginning when nursing took 40 or so minutes! I have become kind of crazy about things to do with oatmeal lately (and have even gotten my hubby on board), so we’ll be trying the cinnamon raisin date recipe this weekend!

      • If you want it crispier, use coconut oil instead of applesauce. The applesauce makes its softer. Let me know how you liked it =D

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.