Quinoa Stuffed Tomatoes

001

I got these beautiful stuffing tomatoes at the farmer’s market recently, and since I had never stuffed anything but a pepper, I knew I had to buy them.  This is a pretty simple dish, very customizable, healthy, and fast to prepare.  This would make a great appetizer, although I ended up eating it for lunch!

008

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • 2 tbsp dried thyme
  • 1 tbsp italian seasoning
  • 10 stuffing tomatoes 
  • daiya vegan mozzarella cheese

Pre heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Add the quinoa to the water, and toss in the spices.  Cook the quinoa, covered and over low heat, 15 minutes or until all the water is absorbed.   Take the tops off the tomatoes, and using your finger dig out all the seeds.  With a pairing knife you then want to take out the center so that that tomato is hollow inside.   

Stuff each tomato with the quinoa, making sure its nice and stuffed in there, I used a spoon to stuff it down deep without breaking the outside.  Place them in a baking dish and cover with the cheese, and cook for 15 minutes.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think, I love hearing for you.